PDA

View Full Version : May Class and mind is about frying, can I really do this.

dazedandconfused
01-04-2011, 06:25 PM
Look here is the skinny, I was super psyched to start this project beginning with attending the class in May, however the more I look at these homes the more I get intimated. Can I really do this? I have good work ethic and not much else. I see these people on the site doing this but I can't imagine me being able to complete one, I am looking at a somewhat modest home, 2 beds and a loft maybe 32*32 1st floor half loft on the second maybe like 1400 ft. I do know that I will attend the class then start with a small project first but the more I look at these things the more I get frustrated, can anyone here tell me they have just basic skills like real basic and are planning on building one. I have no construction experience. Not many tools to speak of, but I do have passion which I think counts but am I over my head? I plan on building this myself part time and on weekends in Pennsylvania. Please respond if you will work cheap ( free) and help me, just kidding but any encouragement would be great, thanks. Jason

edkemper
01-04-2011, 06:54 PM
Better yet? Some on this site, that will likely share with you, never before swung a hammer or used a measuring tape. They did it. Are you less experienced than that? We have elderly builders, I qualify. We have young builders. We have some pretty terrific young ladies that have built theirs. Even a few older ones that have built theirs.
Can you do it? Not if you don't want to. Will you be able to do it in 2 months while renting? Probably not. I stress probably. Keep reading everything on this site. Get busy and finish it all before you take the class.
Can you do it? I say yes and I don't even know you yet but I (a gimpy old man) and my (almost 5 foot tall, almost 100 pound) wife will be doing it before long. We have the land and we just need the time to dedicate to the build.
Welcome aboard.

Shark