PDA

View Full Version : Logs in the Midwest

philreed
09-28-2010, 07:08 PM
I am in the St. Louis area and am interested in taking the class as soon as I can (hopefully the next one). I will wait until after I've gone through the class to start on anything. However, I'm curious if it will be possible for me to obtain the logs in my region. It seems like most of the student homes are in the northwest area where there are many types of tall straight trees. I'm not a forestry expert, but I think it may be difficult for me to find logs that would work for these homes (say 30'x40').
Will this be real concern? Any Midwesterners have suggestions?

panderson03
09-29-2010, 06:28 AM
welcome! we're building in northern MN and had no trouble getting logs.

Shannonbeth
09-29-2010, 10:10 AM
I like you am waiting for the class. However, I am always looking at trees and logs and I forsee no problem in this area. I am currently in west central Mn and will be moving closer to the Metro area. If anything, you would be able to have them shipped in from other places but there should be no issues finding straight logs.

Shark
09-29-2010, 03:51 PM
We are in Indiana, but had our logs trucked in from Michigan. We later found sources in southern Indiana.

You shouldn't have too many issues if you look hard enough.

jpw
10-03-2010, 07:31 AM
If your building, it might be a good idea to talk with the foresters at your DNR. They can, likely, hook you up with local loggers and truckers. Wall logs are a little different animal, so you have to talk directly with the loggers to ensure that you get what you are looking for. Normally, loggers are just looking at moving wood...fast. And, sorting out the straight stuff may not be worth their time.

When I was looking for logs for a cabin, I found the following newsletter through the Minnesota DNR:
http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/publications/forestry/marketplace/index.html