PDA

View Full Version : Help with my research at school

Jaak170
09-18-2009, 06:07 AM
Hello everyone!

Let me introduce myself first. My name is Jaak Tihane, I'm 22 years old and live in Estonia (most people don't know where it is, so well, it's in Europe, not in Africa).
I've been studying in a local university for over two years now and it's time for me to write a seminar project or something (sorry, I cannot explain it the right way in English). Anyway, it's quite a big project and should at least contain about 20 pages of text.
This spring I decided I was going to write this project about materials used in the grooves of log buildings (not sure if I'm using the right word "groove") for thermal insulation.

The project must be ready by about Christmas, so there's still time.

And I would like some help with all this. Maybe people could list me some materials and their characteristics, where could I buy them and so on. I would be really grateful for that. In here, Estonia, our people have used moss for example in their houses for centuries (just an example so you could understand a bit bette what I'm talking about :D).

Thanking in advance.

panderson03
09-18-2009, 07:31 AM
We call the stuff between the logs 'chinking'. if you google it you can get more information about chinking in general. if you use the 'search' function on this website to look for 'chinking' you will find many posts about what this group does as far as chinking. again welcome and good luck in your studies!

StressMan79
09-18-2009, 02:19 PM
I am no expert, but I know that oakum, horse manure and hay, moss, mud, adobe, concrete, mortar, permachink, and even bathroom caulk has been used. The list is likely even longer. Basically, the settlers crammed the holes with anything that would block the cold wind from blowing through.

-Peter

rckclmbr428
09-18-2009, 02:26 PM