PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone tried building a log house in Japan?

PeeCee
08-24-2009, 04:06 PM
Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie here. I'm an American, but I live in Japan and have no intention of returning to the US to live. I'm hoping to build a place near the ocean where I can spend my weekends and winter and summer holidays (I teach at university).

I can I'm trying to work on my schedule so I can attend the Las Vegas class, so I'm hoping that the class will answer a lot of my questions about building.

I was wondering if anyone on this forum has done any log home building in Japan.

It would be nice to have someone to discuss details like building codes with...

A long shot, I know.

PC

Shark and Bake Queen
08-25-2009, 03:22 AM
I'm a realive newbie to, - Japan and China was my inspiration for my proposed log home. I took the last course in June with my husband we live in the UK but will be going to live in the West Indies (planning to move at the end of the year) and build our log home there so I know what it's like to face everything on your own and not looking forward to the building codes and planning departments etc.. You will not be dissapointed with the course, it is pretty intense and you will learn everything there is to know about how to build and the members forum is a great 'friend' with tons of advice, experiences and genuinely helpful people and it's my life line. Before going to the course see if you can find out about what sort of wood you will have as a resource, contact your planning department to see what they requre so that you can get as many questions together before the course and don't be afraid to ask just about anything - if you can get in the day before to catch up with time difference that would help we were quite jet lagged and must admit needed coffee to get through - the course is the best thing we did, the forum and everyone is the best support we could have - good luck !

DDaniel
08-25-2009, 05:12 AM