PDA

View Full Version : Hemlock???

Fyremare
03-12-2008, 05:49 AM
Hi,
Am hesitant to ask this question, so if it's really a stupid one, someone help me understand. I have land in So. VT and most of the pine has been cut from it. What I have left is a good amount of Hemlock. I don't know what KIND of hemlock, if there are any differences! I have noticed that in any list of suitable wood to use, hemlock is never listed. Why? What are the cons of this wood that leave it off the list of good woods to use? Thanks, I hope someone can clear this up for me before I go do something stupid like use it anyway!
Fyremare

slasher
03-12-2008, 02:50 PM
I am no expert and actually have been looking for years... The squared, dove-tailed cabins of the southern appalachians has traditionally been hemlock. The problem is aquiring enough tree's large enough reasonably as its a harder slow growth tree in comparison to the pines in these parts... But in VT, I am sure it's probably even better as it probably has real tight rings with your winters...

I would say most the 120+y.o. cabins that I have seen are hemlock. Also there's appalachian log homes that offers it as a material choice in the square dove tailed design...

rreidnauer
03-12-2008, 03:14 PM
If I recall correctly, I believe Hemlock is prone to ring shake. But that doesn't mean you have to rule it out.

rckclmbr428
03-12-2008, 04:26 PM
The Hemlocks are currently being wiped out like the american chestnut was by a blight called wolly adeglia. is sucks the sap out of the trees, and talking with the mills around here, after the adelgia has gotten them, they rot super fast, google wolly adelgia, and see if its up in vermont yet, It has devestated stand here in VA

hemlock77
03-12-2008, 05:36 PM