PDA

View Full Version : Trees (Logs)

Harry
06-23-2007, 03:18 PM
I'm new at building log homes and would like to take the 2 day schooling asap. I'm doing research at present. I just wondered what would be the best trees (logs) to use in building a log house. I love this forum. :D :D

Shark
06-23-2007, 06:05 PM
Ideally long, straight, & minimal taper.

I know many people are using different types of pine, & also douglas fir.

The logs we plan to use are going to be red pine from northern Michigan.

Kola
06-24-2007, 06:32 AM
Harry, ideally it is sweet if you can use logs from your land. If you have not yet bought land this should be afactor in land selection. If you are a penny-pincher (like me) think about this: even if you have trees that are not real big and long or straight you could consider building vertical log walls or a "piece-en-piece" method. But the butt and pass style of building is the strongest and quite simple to build.

If you have lots of money: IMO, buy the biggest straightest Douglas Fir pine trees you can find. It seems the state of Washington has them all over the place and they are delicious. When I took the class and got lost along the way I passed a logmill with Doug Firs all over the place. I pulled over, drooled, cried sweet tears of joy, then I passed out. A beautiful site!..but I think I had a mild stroke or seizure from all the excitement...
jk..

But really, folks have built homes with just about every type of log. Red Pine is very pretty too. Cedar smells cool. I have seen loghomes built with oak and a few other hardwoods. There are listings available for the different wood species that rate their strength and resistance to insects etc.

My idea of a perfect log is ANY species with 15-20 inch bottom end, very little taper at the top end and straight as an Indian arrow.

Kola

Harry
06-24-2007, 06:44 AM