PDA

View Full Version : Small Guest House Live-In While Building Main House

Onionknight12
10-25-2016, 08:51 PM
Hello. This is my first post as a fairly short term lurker. I was just curious regarding the smallest houses that have been built with the butt-and-pass method. I was considering perhaps building a guest house to get the practical experience of building a house (I've only read up on electrical, plumbing, logistics, etc.), and while a standard cheaply built stick-framed house would do the job, I'd rather get experience hands on, just down to scale. I was thinking around 16' X 16' although slightly larger (20' X 20' would be a reasonable upper bound). Also, just to describe my background in case it helps, I'm a 25-year-old college student who will be graduating this spring and is heavily considering attending the class in 2017 when I can afford it.

loghousenut
10-25-2016, 10:18 PM
Perfect idea and right up the LHBA alley. I'd say you have a workable plan.

Sent from my LG-H631 using Tapatalk

rckclmbr428
10-26-2016, 03:01 AM
I've built as small as a 10x15, and as large as 11,000 sq ft with 4 floors. It scales nicely in both directions

lynncherl
10-26-2016, 07:58 AM
Keep in mind that a 400 sq ft build is not a tenth of the work of a 4000. I'm guilty of thinking "oh, it's just a small cabin and won't take much work". Wrong!

rreidnauer
10-26-2016, 08:30 AM
Keep in mind that a 400 sq ft build is not a tenth of the work of a 4000. I'm guilty of thinking "oh, it's just a small cabin and won't take much work". Wrong!
But on the other side of the token, a 40x40 is A LOT more work than a 30x30. Somewhere in between there is a flip.

Onionknight12
10-26-2016, 05:32 PM
I've built as small as a 10x15, and as large as 11,000 sq ft with 4 floors. It scales nicely in both directions