PDA

View Full Version : Question on difficulty in building a B&P Home

Gunny
08-26-2013, 10:21 AM
First let me say the following and then I will ask my question. (the first part is not meant to be rude at all): I am not looking for sympathy or help in building a home. I want to build this home with my wife and enjoy the time together. However, I am a disable veteran. I have all my fingers, toes and I can walk but I am limited in some ways. I can put out about 4 hours of low to moderate work a day. Less if it is heavy lifting. If I do more than that I end up in bed or on the couch for several days to recoup my energy and let the pain subside to a tolerable level. I rebuilt our current bathroom from the ground up (literally) and replaced some rotten rim joists on the house in my current condition. I took my time, had some difficulties, but it was doable. Okay, my question: Based on the minimal I just shared, do you think it may be possible for someone like me (and my wife) to build a B&P home on our own or with minimal contractor help? Help meaning with the roof, some plumping/electrical, well, septic, phone, etc. I know, many factors involved but a general idea on overall difficulty is all I am looking for. I already put my email address in to be notified when the next class is available. I will attend the class even if my wife and I cannot do this by ourselves. We have decided to go this route, calculated the risks, and figured what the heck. Life is short, enjoy it while you can.