PDA

View Full Version : A new comer

amos
05-05-2013, 02:22 AM
Hi Guys,

Somehow, I stumbled onto this website, and boy am i glad i did.

this really seems to good to be true.

like many others, my dream is to build my own log home by myself or with a close family member.

i am currently studying abroad in Europe and I have exams during the time period that the class is, but i'm seriously thinking about buying the $1500 ticket to fly over for 3 days to take this course. is this really a recommend course? will i really learn to build an entire house from A - Z? will this class include information for more complicated designs, like 2 floor structures etc?

also another question:

is this still an industry today, (2013) that is profitable?

thanks a bunch!

rreidnauer
05-05-2013, 05:16 AM
Amos, you've done as so many others before you. Most folks end up here by chance. You'd think it wouldn't still be such a little known site in this day and age, but I guess the internet is a vast land.

To answer your first question, no, the class doesn't teach EVERYTHING to building your home. There's simply not enough time to cover every aspect in the 24 hours of schooling. It will teach you the basics to build your superstructure, what pitfalls to avoid, how to source materials, and recommendations for efficient layouts. The forums then become the extension to the classes, which help fill in any blanks that you might have after the whirlwind of a class schedule. For those who've been through the classes, most will tell you the system works beautifully.

Yes, second floor construction techniques are absolutely discussed. In fact, by design of the elements taught, there are no structurally supporting interior walls in an LHBA home, leaving you many options for your design.

It's very much profitable. We have one member on here who builds for a living, and I believe he's stretched pretty thin, with no risk of running out of work.

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy using TapaTalk 2

amos