PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible?

JakeProm
01-18-2013, 09:21 AM
I am a family man with 2 children and a wife and I am currently attending a 2 yr program for HVAC/R. I really don't have money because of the school and going to school full time. I would love the financial freedom of being able to build my own log home, but I am not sure if it is possible in this day in age.

If I have zero experience with construction is it possible to build one of these log homes? Has anyone here built one of these homes with no experience? Where would someone even begin if there dream was to have a comfortable home of their own and a safe place to live with their family without being completely broke by a high house payment?

I have the drive to give my family a better life and a nice place to live, but knowing myself with no construction experience I am not sure if this is possible? My goal would be to purchase a piece of land and build a log home on it, but with no experience is that even attainable? I don't want to make my family suffer because I want a log home for myself, but I would love to not have the burden of a high house payment.

If anyone has any sound advice, I would much appreciate it, maybe even some encouragement. Thanks for reading.

rreidnauer
01-18-2013, 10:34 AM
Ha ha! Your concerns read like so many others who first found this site. (almost word for word at times!) The short answer is yes, if you can think outside the box. Creativity plays a large part in a successful build. You don't have money so you need to be creative. A recent post talks about someone who built his place for JUST $180!!!! That person sourced all their materials for free. Again determination and creativity.
Many people with no experience have taken the course and went on to build their homes. It really isn't rocket science, and if you can avert yourself from looking at the big picture, and take it a step at a time, it's fully managable.