PDA

View Full Version : They're all correct when they say 'Take The Class'

John W
12-07-2012, 07:53 AM
You read in almost every thread from one of regulars or other members to take the class. Well, had I taken the class last year, it would have helped me right now with a possible land purchase.
Don't know the questions to ask, trees that are there are good to use, what about streams through your property, perc tests, mineral rights, county regulations, etc, etc, etc.
I've posted before about this property, and it dropped in price. Know one more kicker? It has a tech school adjacent to it, and they build houses. If I work it right, can you say, free labor for extra credit??? If I was a student at a tech school doing some building, I'd kill to be on a log home build. That would be fun.
So anyway, just a personal story of regret to maybe teach a lesson. Take the class sooner rather than later, or too late.

StressMan79
12-07-2012, 09:54 AM
this aint the instructor's first rodeo. They will help you know the positives/negatives of all that: just a for instance, the creeks may be a great hydro solution, but they may create a "wetland" or protected area that seriously limits how/what you can build. The limitations depend on lots of things, not the least of which are the district (state/county) you are considering, etc. Besides teaching you "how to build" an inexpensive home, they also can answer tons of related questions like this. Anyway, John, When are we going to welcome you to the other side?

-Peter

John W
12-07-2012, 10:19 AM
Birthday and Christmas presents are forgone in lieu of cash for the class. Hopefully March.

edkemper
12-07-2012, 12:33 PM
John,

Just want to throw this out; Perhaps the best birthday and christmas present you will ever get/give will be the class. Perhaps the present that will be enjoyed for generations.

Just a thought. Hope to see you on the other side, soon.

hammerhead 67
12-07-2012, 02:59 PM