PDA

View Full Version : Hello and Questions!

jaegerfarms
08-07-2012, 07:55 AM
Hello everyone, I stumbled across this today when I was once again looking at homes for our house. Currently we have 5 acres in NE Florida on an island where we live. It's just my husband and I with no children (nor plans for any), but we do have 2 horses, 4 dogs, 1 goat, 2 cats and 9 chickens. We're working on building ourselves in to sustainable farming currently with gardens and raising our own steer and pigs for meat.

Right now we have the single-wide trailer that came with our property and while it's perfectly safe to live in, we're looking at and planning for purchasing or building our next home. We would really love a log cabin home around 1,600-1,900 square feet.

I've already sent the link to my husband about the class, but before we even think about going, I would like to know about building codes. I currently work in construction and have already helped to build 2 personal homes (I work in underground utilities i.e. sewer, force, water and gas mains, not vertical construction) so I do have experience. I also have access to backhoes and excavators which I think would make things much easier in the long run. Still, I have 3 questions.

Can you build one of these cabins up to our 120 mph wind speed zones that must meet codes?

Can you build these with a crawl space underneath? We're in a potential flood zone so we'd like for our home to be built up 24"-36" in case minor flooding does occur.

Also, pine trees are the most common here. Can you use pine as your logs or would we need to go for shipping in some logs? There's a lot of logging operations around us, but it's mainly pine used for pulp although there is plenty of sawmill lumber as well.

Thank you for your help. I'd like to present this as a viable option to my husband (who would be full on with this) but I want to make sure it is an option since we do live on the coast.

rreidnauer
08-07-2012, 09:07 AM
Yes, yes, and yes.