PDA

View Full Version : total newbie needing help with BASIC questions

dan_fash
07-19-2012, 10:58 PM
Hello all,
I've been dreaing of building a log home for years, and I am finally at the place where I think it may be possible. Like everyone else, I'm sure, I want to know all I can before I jump in, so I'm on a huge quest for knowledge. I have a basic question about the class.....I've researched almost every style of log home I can find, and generally, I like to look of traditional scandanavian fully scribed, non chinked homes. should I still take the LHBA class? will my mind be changed? will I only learn butt and pass, chinked style of building. Please understand, I'm not down on butt and pass. I have heard a lot of the argument for chinking and also for full scribed. I just like the full scribed appearence. so, help please. am I in the right place here, or no?

I appreciate all opinions and responses. I even promise to listen if you have info that may swing me toward chinked vs scribed :)

BTW, I have tons of questions to follow too, but this seems like a good place to start.

Dan

rckclmbr428
07-20-2012, 03:11 AM
I really like the look of lamborghinis, but i'd rather have a diesel truck. Actually my wallet dictates it. Scandanavian chinkless homes are beautiful, but they are also very expensive and time consuming. In the amount of time it would take to full scribe the logs for a home, you could be finished and living in a butt and pass home.

blane
07-20-2012, 05:07 AM
The butt and pass method of building is something that is easy for a novice to do who has no experience, and not to mention the quality of construction can't be beat. I would say if you took the class you would change your mind on the methods of construction for several reasons.
1. Issues to do with settling.
2. Longevity of a whole log verses a milled log.
3. Rot
4. Price

The list goes on.

Basil
07-20-2012, 06:06 AM