PDA

View Full Version : Chinking question

sigmund
06-19-2012, 06:26 PM
We recently purchased a log home so all this is rather new to me. I plan on re-chinking the outside walls and have been doing some reading about chinking in general. Most pieces I've read tell you to install a backer rod between the joints, then chink. Our home has nails between the joints, something that I haven't read about. Can someone tell me why those nails are there and also explain the chinking process when these nails are present? Sorry if this sounds elementary but I'm new at this. Thanks.

rocklock
06-19-2012, 08:55 PM
Can you post a picture?
Can you describe the log home?
Where are you at?
Why re-chink? If you.need to repair there is are products for that.
We need more info to really help!

panderson03
06-20-2012, 05:11 AM
agreed. pictures really help us understand what you're asking about :)

sigmund
06-20-2012, 07:51 AM
For some reason, I don't have permission to post images. If that gets corrected, I will post some. Thanks for your replies.

blane
06-20-2012, 08:15 AM
Your chinking is probably mortar which requires metal to hold in place. Mortar will not hold to wood and my guess is thats why you have nails between the logs. Mortar chinking is the most economical chinking method and is what we use here.

Here is a good resource but their mortar mixture is not correct. http://www.bearfortlodge.com/bearfort_lodge/2007/12/log-home-chinking-video-2/
should be
3 parts sand.
1 part portland cement
and 1/2 part lime

loghousenut
06-20-2012, 09:02 AM
Sigmund,

To us, your nails holding mortar chinking sounds perfectly normal. This is right up our alley but we need the photos. You can post a link to photobucket photos or a facebook page.

sigmund
06-20-2012, 07:04 PM
Here is a link to some pics. Thanks for the information so far. It has been helpful
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=4148623919685&set=a.4148623839683.2177404.1406442906&type=1&theater

sigmund
06-20-2012, 07:33 PM