Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 10kW wind turbine v solar

Blog Entries

10kW wind turbine v solar

Been looking at power generation. This is something that I didn't see before.

10kW wind Turbine grid tied system with 40 foot tower
    $27,000

v

10kW Solar 10kW grid tied system
    $45,000

Perhaps this is what will be the deciding factor. Especially considering I have a year round 10+ MPH wind. Also considering I have very cloudy winters.

Am I missing something other than my marbles?
    edkemper

Class: Valentine's Day weekend 2009

Feel the Bern!

If you truly have good wind then it is good. Most people "think" they have good wind, but really don't. I would recommend getting one of those wind measuring devices (annenometer???) and post it for a year before laying out that kind of cash. From what I studied, you have to have good uninterrupted wind, way above trees and obstacles. Most wind we are accustomed to is really turbulent, swirling around trees and buildings. This is not good for wind power. I wish we could, but it would take at least a 100 ft tower to get to "smooth" wind.

http://www.wind-sun.com/ForumVB/show...2-Wind-Project

Ed, go to this site and read a bit about wind power. It seems that the industry grossly over-promises. My 2 cents.

Blog Entries
    Bo,

And many farmers are changing out their wind generators and going solar. But with newer technology, maybe it's a better choice for me. Long periods of clouds yearly. Constant wind. Only 10 inches of rain and 18 inches of snow. 4 inches of snow would be a heavy storm where my property is. Not sure a solar unit could keep up. Not sure I could make up the difference on the fairly short sunny season.

But I'll read as much on that site as I can. Tanks Bo.
    edkemper

Feel the Bern!