Thread: Electric power possibility

Electric power possibility

So I was looking into green sources of electricity and they all come attached to a generator, whether it be by wind, water or gas motor. Ideally I don't want to spend money (buy gas) to make money, that is after the equipment is paid for. Now wind generators are pretty expensive, water wheels/micro hydro are great if you have running water near by, and still expensive, but is it possible to maybe build a one of these with a conventional type generator that one could pick up from an industrial supplier? I invision in my mind that to make a wind/water generator would be much cheaper and pretty easy to make compared to a retail model. Mind you I am not an electrical engineer so what sounds good may not be.

LHBA Member
    A little bit of knowledge can be a dangerous thing

It takes a lot of water to generate a little electricity.

If you have a constant heat source take a look into
    T.E.G. generators. If you have ample sunlight then
    P.V. panels might be viable.

The true goal is to reduce you need for power without compromising your quality of life. You would be surprised how much power you can do without and not even notice the dramatic reduction in consumption. The use of LED lighting is (finally!!) viable. I have plans for a solar clothes dryer that would reduce my need for an electric or gas dryer by at least 76%. The new heating system will reduce the electric use by 97%. All of this takes planning, and incorporating these systems into new construction is much easier than a retrofit to existing construction.

G'pa
    You know a persons relatives didn't like them when
    their obituary starts with the words, "Ding Dong"

Blog Entries