Thread: I am new to this virtual community and would like to introduce myself.

I am new to this virtual community and would like to introduce myself.

I have noticed that there is great camaraderie within this forum. This is so gratifying to see. I live with my husband in Alberta, Canada. We have plans to build a log home within a year or two.

I am so grateful for finding this site, as it is so informative and has stopped me from making a huge mistake. I have talked to quite a few log kit companies and had recently chosen one to build our home; my husband and I have now decided to hold off until we have taken the log home building course, I look forward to attending the course.

Does anyone have any advice on which species of wood to use? Or does it matter? I also stumbled across a company that uses forest fire killed logs with the least moisture content available, any comments on this? They also say that their logs are fully checked so that the stain can fully penetrate, which lowers maintenance. All suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Lisa Rasi
    Alberta, Canada

Welcome to LHBA Lisa. Looks

Welcome to LHBA Lisa. Looks like you've found this community just as many others have.

Species? Well, as long as it isn't something exceptionally prone to rot, almost anything will work. Obviously, the straighter and stronger, the better, but as Skip, the original LHBA guru said, "Use what ya got." The class covers in great detail, the best ways to build and protect your investment from rot, without spending a fortune on expensive sealers and caulks. (the direct opposite of most, if not all, kit home manufactures) Yes, standing dead timber can be used. I'm seeing more and more kit companies mentioning this being their source for logs. How long after it's been dead for use depends a lot on environmental conditions for your area, and the species of tree.