Thread: taking apart and moving log home

taking apart and moving log home

Im new to log homes but have an oppertunity to buy an existing log home that must be taken apart and moved any advice

LHBA Member

What kind of construction?

I think you will get some members to chime in if we all knew the method of construction.

Off hand, most people think of 'taking apart" or in some way dismantling a log home to move it. But, that is often not the best way to move one. What are the circumstances that force the requirement to take this particular house apart? Depending upon construction this can be done more easily or not so easily.
    One thing to consider is that many more local goverments are prepared to deal with a conventional intact home being trucked over the highways and resettled than a home that has literally been taken apart. In many ways, using a conventional house mover might be the least expensive and less-stressful way of getting your home where you want it and passed by the local authorities permiting requirements.

The first thing you might want to do is locate a moving company. Depending upon where the structure is currently located, you might find a mover that has experience with moving log homes and can add their practical advice for the area it is located and the area to which you want to move it.

At any rate, tells us more about the home and where you need to move it.

-A

taking apart and moving a log home

As I am completely new to this I will describe as best I can
    the state has taken over the property that two log homes sit on and have scheduled them to be demolished I may be able to purchase them and move them to some property I own moving them whole is not an option as they would be moved some 180 miles
    I could propabaly either attempt to dissesemble and reessemble or simply take the logs and build a different log home