Thread: Help?? New construction and expectations check

Help?? New construction and expectations check

Looking for needed insight and help. Located in Southwestern PA. Wife and I are interested in getting out of our high rent district (selling our home) and going more rural with some property. Formal retirement is close.

Houses with property we've looked at in the SW PA area are way overpriced (> $500k). Looking to downsize the house a bit (<2000 sq ft, maybe <1700 sq ft). Would like to possibly build. Wife likes the log cabins she's seen and is pushing me in that direction. I've looked at plans and kits.

I'm an engineer but I've worked mostly in the industrial world and don't know much about residential. Also started my career in the electrical craft many years ago. If I buy the property first, is that the best to go assuming access to municipal sewage or the property passes a perc test (also gas, water, power, etc.. readily available and appropriately zoned)? Are there contractors that I can work with as a GC that can handle helping me through the process?

The target is building for a TPC (Total project cost) in the $300k-325k range. Is it doable? Am I dreaming?

Thanks in advance. -PR (email: rileypt@ieee.org)

Is the$300k including property or not? That will vary greatly depending on location.

As far as building Lhba style, that's a healthy budget. But, it depends how much work you plan to sub out.
    Also depends on how nice of finishes you want(granite etc)

If I hire something out, it's going to cost 5-10x more what I can do it myself.

It can be hard to find contractors willing to work on custom log homes because they simply aren't familiar with them

If you are serious about it, take the class. It's worth it.

We are building our second one. Anyone can do it. It's not easy.

jandjloghome.blogspot.com
    Completed #1 - Sold #1.....#2 about to start
    http://jandjloghome.blogspot.com/

LHBA Member

Help?? New construction and expectations check