Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Greetings from Kola

Greetings from Kola

Greeting my old LHBA friends, enemies and others.

It's that time of the year - again to check in and to...umm..behave.

Life is good here in the High Country of Colorado at 9000 feet up. For those of you who don't know me I took the class way back in 2006- a class that changed my life. I live happily alone (except for my GSD and farm animals which are family to me) I like the peace and quiet and solitude here. There's no turning back.

I am now 61 years old and slowing down. For those of you who don't know me I was a truck and diesel mechanic, a chiropractor, home remodeler and now I'm a vocational teacher in a CO State Prison teaching Carpentry/Building Trades and I love it. It could definitely be a TV reality show as every day is a new adventure. I have 15 guys or students (and no I don't call them inmates or offenders) I treat them like human beings. I give them RESPECT and that goes a long way in a prison, trust me on that. Anyway, I could write a book on what goes on inside the joint...and maybe I will - right after I write a book on my adventures of living in a tipi.

Anyway,I need some help with my solar set-up as for years I have been getting by on a bare bones setup. Here's what I bought:

One brand new Honda EU7000 generator (fuel injected and remote start kit) (to run power tools and my log splitter)
    A little old Honda EU1000 genny which I use to charge my two L-16 Trojans on super cold times.
    Outback Flexmax 80 (same one for 15 years, a great investment - thanks to Rod's recommendation)
    Outback inverter (24V FXR2000) just bought it
    Outback Hub/mate (just bought)
    4 Panasonic 335w solar panels (I may get 2 more) (just bought)

So here's my problem.