Thread: Log home kits in Southern California ?

Log home kits in Southern California ?

Hello,

I'm new to log cabins and have no experienced in building in building a log home. I live in California and home prices is expensive and over priced. So I'm Considering buying a log hom kit. And assemble my self. I've seen log home kits 3-4 beds and 2-3 baths 3500 ft squared for under $30,000.

Any advice would be helpful.

Thank you

LHBA Member
    Have you considered doing it the LHBA way?

LHBA Member
    Myloghome, my guess is log homes are new to you. When they were new to me, I began to notice quite a few distinct styles, and the ones in my neighborhood seemed to be lacking something. It took me awhile to realize what that was: the logs weren't really logs anymore. They were either timbers with a machined curved side on the exterior face, or worse (to me), just plank siding with a curved side. They only hinted at old timey log homes. The timber ones were kits.

Then I found this site, the Log Home Builders Assoc. The logs are truly logs, unmilled, and with all the irregularities pioneers had. These don't come in kits, though. If you are ready to build a kit, you might also be ready to build a real log home. Stick around and learn more. Look through the photo gallery, too. Kits have a lot of drawbacks in terms of durability and maintenance. This building style (LHBA) solves such problems.

Peter

Aiea, Hi or when it's warm Camano Island, Washington
    Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by Myloghome View Post
    I'm new to log cabins and have no experienced in building in building a log home. I live in California and home prices are expensive and over priced. So I'm Considering buying a log home kit. And assemble my self.