Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Realistic week?

LHBA Member

Realistic week?

I might be able to gather half a dozen workers for a solid week of construction, including myself. More could help, but I know there are diminishing returns on head count. Starting on completed piers, how much should I expect to get done in 7 days, weather permitting?

This assumes all tools on site, including a crane or telehandler, and also assumes good, careful planning. This log home will be one story -- can all log stacking be done in a week? The roof deck will be 12" SIP's 8 feet by 24 feet (really!), so I expect those to be quicker than built-up, though I have no experience. The finish roof will be standing seam metal roofing, like LHN, if I recall correctly. Could all the roofing fit in a week, too, realistically?

Things I am not tempted to press for would include windows and doors, or gables, or floors. Or even gutters. ;-)

Peter

Can it be done? Yes, I do it all the time. Myself and 3 others just put a 40x40 under roof in 7 days. Though we didn't put the metal on the roof. Is it realistic for someone doing it for the first time? No. A good week and you should be able to get your walls up, based on what I've seen others do on their first go round.
    www.WileyLogHomes.com
    "Hand Crafted Traditions"

LHBA Member
    I knew you'd come through for me! Your experience makes all the difference for you, but your adjustment for a first-timer like me helps immensely. Thanks, Ronnie.

In full disclosure, my first home took me a couple of months to get under roof, metal, and floors installed. About half of that time was spent trying to figure out what I was doing.
    www.WileyLogHomes.com