Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: building a 10X10 hunting cabin

building a 10X10 hunting cabin

I am very new to this so please forgive the silly questions. I've watched a lot of youtube videos and am not quite sure what to do at this point.
    I was originally going to try the butt and pass method and using rebar to hold it all together. With my electric drill i'd drill a pilot hole and then drive the the 1/2" rebar down through the two logs to hold them in place. Repeat every three feet or so. The pieces of rebar would be 16". Is that going to be to difficult to accomplish you think?

The other option was to notch out the logs. If I used this method, my question is do both sides of each log get notched at the end? In the half moon/cup fashion? I would assume both sides of the end of each log got notched so that way the main length of the log would rest on the log above or below it, minimizing gaps....correct?

First question, you should be fine. And watch this for the second question: http://youtu.be/3YzalwBcPck?t=21s
    All my bad forum habits I learned from LHN

Rod Reidnauer
    Class of Apr. 9-10, 2005
    Thinking outside the vinyl sided box

1 the class recommends spacing, etc.
    2 you aren't doing "butt and pass" if you're notching at all.

Take the class, you'll be glad you did.

Sent from my Galaxy S4 using Forum Runner

I guess I wasn't making my notches deep enough? I've seen Dick P's video before just never really realized how deep he notched his logs. My wife was trying to tell me when I was practicing the other day that I needed to notch BOTH the top and bottom of the log. I disagreed. Dick just notches the bottom of each log. Now if I can just make my notches square with each other i'll be in business lol

Your wife has seen too many Lincoln Log toy sets.
    All my bad forum habits I learned from LHN

Rod Reidnauer
    Class of Apr. 9-10, 2005
    Thinking outside the vinyl sided box

LHBA Member