PDA

View Full Version : What type of lumber for a log home?

10-09-2005, 10:10 AM
I'm a newbie so please forgive my ignorance.

I plan on taking the class with my wife and hopefully one of my kids next spring.

In the mean time, I'm looking for land in the Northern Vermont area to build my home on.

Before I become serious about a piece of land, what type of lumber should I look for? Pine, Hardwood, or what? What is best to work with and what lasts the longest (bug resistance)? What size (height, circumference) should it be?

I would like to use the trees from the property that I buy to build the home. Any help would be appreciated.

I know you guys have the answers, please share with a new guy.

Thanks,
No'easter

brent217
10-09-2005, 11:00 PM
Whatever is on your land that you can get free is the absolute best wood to work with. The point is to build your house as cheaply as possible, so you are not in debt to banks for the next 30 years.

Pine is fine. In general, look for land with nice tall trees, lots of them, cause you will want to cut a lot down to build a house.

In order to qualify your log home as heavy timber construction, you need a minimum of 8" diameter logs (at the skinny end). However, IMHO, you should get thicker logs. How thick? As thick as you can find, that are still within your budget. The more wood you have in your walls, the more thermal mass your log home will have, and the less your monthly utility bills will be.

For more, information, take the course ;)

10-10-2005, 01:14 AM
Thanks for the reply. Lots of large diameter, tall trees. I take it Pine is fine.

Just didn't want to buy any property with trees that are to hard to work with.

Again thanks for the assist.

JeffandSara
10-10-2005, 07:02 AM
Hi, Nor'easter--

Just two other comments.