PDA

View Full Version : Greetings, and Open-Ended Question

zcat
08-13-2005, 08:21 PM
Hi everyone. I'm just getting ready to sign up for the Sept 24-25 class. It's a bit scary, but after researching things for a while, I think I'm ready to take the plunge.

I'm currently a software developer who's really, really tired of the rat race. My wife and I are trying to simplify, and we're ready and willing to take some risks in order to live life the way we want to. We look around and realize that if we don't change anything, we'll wake up 10 years from now in the same basic situation we're in now (as though it takes a rocket surgeon to figure that out). Ultimately, I would love to make log home building my profession--we'll see what happens after we get house #1 under our belts.

I've gone through the forum and don't recall this specific question posed this way--if I missed it, I apologize. I know it's virtually impossible to give averages for cost and time investment needed to build, because there are so many variables. I'd like to hear from people who have built, or are in the process of building their log home. Specifically, I'm curious about the following:

1) How big is your home, or how big will it be when you're finished?

2) How many hours per week have you averaged in building your home?

3) How long did it take to complete building (or to get to the point you are at now, if you aren't finished)?

4) What building experience did you have before beginning?

5) How much money did it take you to build your home, not including land?

6) How/where did you get your logs? Did you have to transport them very far?

7) Generally, does your home have very basic amenities, did you go all out--Italian marble, granite, full custom cabinetry, etc.--or is it something in between?

8) Did you contract any of the work out?