PDA

View Full Version : Log Home, Will it Float?

dancingsea
06-26-2005, 03:42 PM
Aloha,

You seem like a very friendly group! I've been plotting to move off the grid for over 10 years. Have the Solar Living Source Book, Finding and Buying Your Place in the Country, Mortgage Free!, One Man's Wilderness etc, and most recently, Logs Wind and Sun. Have studied about all sorts of building techniques, yurts, earthships, straw bale, cordwood masonry, passive solar design, etc. I live on Maui, an already expensive place that has gone through the roof for normal people, and I'm planning my escape to a forest somewhere on the mainland.

I will have more time than money, thus a do it yourself technique is appealing. A friend and I plan on taking 6 months to year off to build the home, around 1200 sq ft + a detached 400 sq ft (or so) art studio/ workshop. I've become very attracted to Log Homes (vs. the other more alternative techniques) because I feel the resale value will be higher with a much larger pool of potential buyers.

Here are a few questions, I'm sure more will follow:

1) We have very little building experience, actually, none beyond some renovation work. In that regard, our confidence level is a bit low, and hence the idea of a kit is on some levels attractive. I can accept that some kit makers are deadbeats, as this website well documents. But isn't it a bit extreme to paint a picture that all kit makers are a nightmare waiting to happen? Is it just as possible that a nightmare could unfold for very inexperienced do it yourselfers (like me) building a home from scratch using what they learn from this class?