PDA

View Full Version : Am I crazy to put my dream on hold? New member,Hood River OR

Dan Reynolds
06-07-2005, 01:31 PM
Hi, my name is Dan Reynolds and I live in Hood River OR. on the Columbia River Gorge. Any one near by? I took the class a few years back but I'm in the middle of the nursing program at CGCC and so my log home dreams are on hold for now. Truth be told I am in school to be a nurse because it is a 'good steady respectable job and getting my degree is the responsible thing to do' so my wife tells me, but my real dream is to build log homes and cabins, one unique project at a time. I have had that dream in one form or other since I was a kid and I have let parents and spouces and my own lack of focus and belief talk me out of it. Skip's class was so empowering to me because I could really see that I can do this thing but I am finacially and emotionally obligated to my wife and the bank to finish school and play finacial catch up. Am I crazy to be in school for something I don't even want to do just to make enough extra money to pay back school loans and credit cards so I can then save up to build my first log home and start a new career doing something that I am sure I will love but that my wife doesn't believe in or even like?

pdthct
06-07-2005, 02:58 PM
I think that I have a very marketable skill and a respectable line of work. Went to school, racked up a substantial debt to service my education, because of that debt, went into the military for 10 years. By the time my 10 year service was done, I owed only a few thousand in education loans and the balance of one mortgage. Here was where I had my window of opportunity and also where I "put my dreams on hold" as you put it. After getting out of the military, I decided to do the "responsible" thing and started my own undertaking. I hired 5 employees, had an office build to suit with a 5 year lease and a 7 year lease on equipment.