PDA

View Full Version : Any experience with the "Ripsaw" portable mill?

Kama
05-19-2005, 03:51 AM
Does anyone have experience with the Ripsaw mill? I'm a woodworker, so I can get a lot of mileage out of a larger mill, but I'm not interested in putting a lot of time or money into it right now. Space is another immediate issue for me too. I usually have a local sawyer come out to do my milling.

I've seen in a couple of the other threads, a negative tone towards band saw style blades for mills. In theory it seems like the way to go: thinner kerf= less wood being cut= faster and easier on the motor. Properly tensioned blade reduces travel. Even with a saw blade you can get travel if you go to fast. Can anyone educate me with their experience? Thanks.

Andy

rreidnauer
05-19-2005, 06:06 AM
I'm interested in opinions as well. As Kama has said, I've read some negative reports on bandmills, though I suspect many are from makers of circular or chainsaw style mills, (just like cable TV says satellite TV sucks, and vice versa) or from people that never used a bandmill. I've been considering a Hud-son bandmill for myself, and sure would like to get honest opinions from folks that have actually used multiple styles of mills.

nobleknight
05-19-2005, 06:35 AM
05-19-05

Hey,

I've looked into these mills. First they are expensive, second where do you store this monster. Bandsaw mills have three problems. The blades are expensive, and they can wonder around knots and other imperfections. Finally, you have to physically rotate the log to make second cuts. In our case, we want 4x10 joists.

However, the most impressive unit I've looked at is the Peterson Saw mill.