PDA

View Full Version : Any Homework before taking the class?

mcdonis
03-09-2005, 05:15 AM
As a complete stranger to any and all tools more advanced than a hammer, I was wondering if people would suggest any type of work or research I can do to help understand the content of the class better. Since I am not experienced in any type of construction (my line of work has been finance and Investments) I thought their might be terms used that I may not understand.

Anyone have any suggestions ?

JeffandSara
03-09-2005, 05:56 AM
Most of the stuff is pretty common sense. And it sounds like now with the "materials" included with the class that we never got in the "old days" :wink: you should end up with complete "notes", so anything that ISN"T clear to you initially, you can easily ask about later, and it won't have affected your ability to take effective and complete notes.

I had very limited experience with tools and construction when I went, and although Jeff had gone once alone before we went together (so I pretty well knew the drill by the time I actually got to go), I felt like the way things were presented to us was pretty complete and straight-forward.

Questions were also answered on the spot (there were a couple of loo-loo questions in our class, too, and Skip didn't laugh them out of the house or anything! :lol: ), and we found that if you don't bolt right out the door when class is over, there was an opportunity to discuss the techniques with the instructors and with other students who maybe have more or different experience. Besides, you have this forum, which can help a lot too.

You might go to the library or on-line and look at some basic construction terms about things like girders and joists and purlins and stuff. But really, my advice would be, go ready to listen, don't spend too much time in the kitchen chatting during class hours, and just be open-minded and ready for a very very very cool weekend!!! :D

Sara

mbolin
03-09-2005, 08:03 AM