PDA

View Full Version : Considering taking class in April

cobiyero
03-01-2005, 11:25 AM
I am considering taking the class in April, I am currently a carpenter and have built several timber frame/stick frame hybid construction homes from scratch. Looking for peoples opinion of the class with similar backgrounds also wonder if I would be happier with the class offered in the Phillipeans, has anyone taken class from both Skip and his son. Different teaching styles? Would assume very similar class content? Any oppinions would be appreciated.
Everthing posted on his website really makes sense to me...

I built my current home, did all the work myself but still am tied to a 30 year note...but have about 100 k in equity... really like the idea of selling it off and owning a large piece of ground (20 acre +) with a log cabin and own it free and clear...stuff dreams are made of... is it really possible???

clairenj
03-01-2005, 02:16 PM
We had a very large class, and these guys did an excellent job. There are quite alot of interruptions when you have a group of that size( I think we had more than 40 attend) and everyone received attention. My favorite response to some of the suggestions " sure, you can do that but we don't recommend it.."
So many builders I know and have worked with try to make this log building process more complicated than it needs to be. After I have lain awake worrying about what all these others have said or criticised, I go back to my notes from the class and then to the forum and I gain back the certainty that this is the way to go! Things like chinking or log lifting seem to be what gets them going around here! It is pretty funny. One guy said to me that I reallly need to get all that nasty cambium layer off because nothing will penetrate it! not stain or insect repellent or anything.........go figure

good luck and remember that what goes on at the left coast isn't the same as that which goes on at the right coast

Steve
03-01-2005, 02:41 PM