PDA

View Full Version : HVAC, Plumbing, Electrical

Dowadudda
03-12-2006, 06:46 AM
I have seen on this site somewhere, that once done with the class, the real hurtle for most people during their building is either doing this part of the construction themselves or contracting it out. I seen on here that the suggested reads are primarily telling a future builder to know this stuff.

Luckily, I can do all of these easily, due to what I do for a living. But. I may find it scary if one of you called me and asked me to do your home. Because. I simply have no clue how to do one. There is very little information available to most, but, I am a HVAC/R contractor, and in all my time in the trade, I have never read or seen anything about it. Wire runs are easy. Plumbing I am assuming would follow a similiar path. Ducting, is gonna be a night mare. You can build chases. No big deal. But. How do I get my air moving right in them tall ceilings with out consuming the space with chases.

How about big diamter logs, same as structure, hollowed out, lined with round duct, maybe sort a make it look like RPSL.

I called a few buddies up North, where log homes are popular here in MI. One buddy, He says, he himself has always wondered. It's not a matter of doing it, but doing it right. Most average people have zero idea how to do it the right way, providing quality conidtioned air quality.

How do I eliminate Stratification in those big open spaces I want. How does a log structure act with humidification and IAQ issues. And if in and of itself sucks that way, I got to build a system to handle that. My assumptions right now are this is going to be the part that will make me have to think hard to get er right.