PDA

View Full Version : Man Hours

dmorgan
02-24-2006, 08:56 PM
Is there any way to estimate average man hours of labor?

I'm building a one story house and detached garage. Total of about 2200 sq feet. I hired out the foundations, the house shell, the steel roofing, the well bore, the gutters and the garage door. Almost everything else I'm doing alone from clearing/landscaping, electrical, plumbing, septic system, staining, finish materials, trim, kitchen cabinets, ..... you get the idea.

I've got about 25 years of construction experience in several trades; electrical the primary. I guess I'm not as young as I used to be. :-) I'm having the electrical, plumbing and framing inspections done next week and then I'm free to insulate and start the finish interior (all wood, won't be any drywall in this baby).

I started this project in June of last year and have worked it nights after work and weekends with a couple of weeks of vacation time devoted to it. I've made some good progress but man I thought I'd be further along than this. Actually I expected to be living in the darn thing by now.

So how many man hours would you think this should take? I know there isn't a magic number but there should be a general estimate possible. I'm sure a crew would be a less total amount than someone alone so I guess I'm looking for two numbers. Crew vs Man.

Thanks in advance.

David
Belmont, NC

wood bug
02-25-2006, 05:53 AM